Sarah Collins And Julian Oakley Earn BIG EAST Sports Excellence Awards

July 11, 2016

Providence College women’s cross country stand-out Sarah Collins (Basel, Switzerland) and men’s indoor track star Julian Oakley (Tauranga, New Zealand) have each been announced as winners of the 2015-16 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sports Excellence Awards for their respective sports. The league announced the award winners today [July 11], which honors academic and athletic achievement as well as community service.

Collins, a biology major, earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.73 and is a four-time USTFCCCA All-Academic Team and BIG EAST All-Academic Team selection. On June 24, she was named to the Academic All-America Third Team, presented by CoSida. Collins also excelled in her sport, claiming All-America, All-Northeast Region and All-BIG EAST honors in 2012, 2013 and 2015. She has helped guide the Friars to three top-five finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, including the NCAA Team title in 2013. The Friars finished as runner-up at the NCAAs in 2012 and fourth in 2015. She also led the Friars to two BIG EAST Cross Country Championships (2013, 2015), and captured the BIG EAST individual title in 2015. Collins is scheduled to return to Providence College as a graduate student, with one year of eligibility remaining.

Oakley, a finance major, earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.28 and is a three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team honoree. Oakley is a two-time All-American in the mile during the indoor track season, having claimed First-Team honors in 2016 and Second-Team recognition in 2015. He also is a four-time All-BIG EAST performer (2013-2016) and two-time All-Northeast Region honoree (2014, 2016). He finished runner-up at the BIG EAST Championship in the mile four-consecutive seasons.

The Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards are given to one student-athlete in each BIG EAST-sponsored sport based on academic credentials, athletic accolades or performances and volunteer service to the community. Student-athletes who have attained junior academic standing and a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 are eligible. The winners are chosen by the BIG EAST Faculty Athletics Representative Council.



The list of 22 honorees includes 16 seniors, three juniors and three graduate students. Fourteen of the winners competed in the NCAAs in their respective sports this past year. Fifteen were or have been BIG EAST Players of the Year or Individual BIG EAST Championship winners. DePaul, Marquette and St. John’s each had three student-athletes make the list; Georgetown, Providence, Seton Hall, Villanova and Xavier had two; Butler, Creighton and Temple, an affiliate member in women’s lacrosse, had one.


Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media