Sarah Collins Announced As Providence College's NCAA Woman Of The Year Nominee

June 21, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Sarah Collins (Basel, Switzerland) has been nominated by Providence College for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The NCAA released its full list of nominations for the award on June 21. Collins is one of 517 nominees, including 231 from NCAA Division I institutions. The 517 nominees are the most ever in the history of the NCAA Woman of the Year program.

Collins completed her undergraduate degree at Providence in May, earning a Bachelors of Science in biology. She is scheduled to return to Providence College as a graduate student in the fall, and has one year of eligibility remaining.

Collins is a six-time All-American and two-time BIG EAST Champion in cross country and outdoor track. She has helped guide the Friars to three top-five finishes at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, including the NCAA Team title in 2013 [fourth, 2015; second, 2012]. She also led the Friars to two BIG EAST Cross Country Championships (2013, 2015), and captured the BIG EAST individual title in 2015.

In outdoor track, Collins has earned All-America accolades in the 5,000 meters (2014) and 10,000 meters (2016). She won the 2014 BIG EAST title in the 10,000 meters during the 2014 season. During the indoor season, Collins claimed All-America honors in the 5,000 meters (2016).

Collins is equally competitive in the classroom having earned multiple honors for academic success. She recently was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Team and is on the ballot for Academic All-America honors, which will be announced on June 24. Collins also was the 2016 BIG EAST Institutional Female Scholar Athlete of the Year and has been named a USTFCCCA All-Academic selection.

The NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. The award has been given annually since 1991. The 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced on October 18 in Indianapolis, Indiana.



Once the NCAA receives nominations from its core member schools, each conference will be responsible for assessing each nominee’s eligibility and will select up to two conference nominees based on their respective achievements in academics, athletics, service and leadership.

Collins is one of nine nominees from the BIG EAST Conference along with Katrina Coogan (Georgetown), Shane Crutchfield (Xavier), Rachel Daly (St. John’s), Onya Edwards (Xavier), Emily Hansinger (Seton Hall), Melanie Jereb (Creighton), Gena Lenti (DePaul) and Rebecca Mitrea (DePaul).

The BIG EAST Conference must submit the league’s nomination from among these nine candidates by July 15. From that point, the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee will choose the top 10 honorees in each division. From among those 30 candidates, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the Committee on Women’s Athletics will vote from among the top nine finalists to determine the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year.

Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media