Providence College Women's Cross Country 1996 Wrapup

    Women: 1st BIG EAST, 7th NCAA
    Coach: Ray Treacy
    Captains: Krissy Haacke, Marie McMahon

    Providence College women's cross country continues to be one of the most successful programs in the country. For the second consecutive year, Head Coach Ray Treacy's women's team captured the BIG EAST title and qualified for the NCAA Championship.

    The Lady Friars entered the season as the defending national champions and ranked No. 1. Senior Marie McMahon (Ennistymon Ireland) and junior Maria McCambridge (Dublin, Ireland) helped pace the Lady Friars to wins in their first three meets at the Central Connecticut Invitational on September 7, the URI Invitational on September 14 and the Roy Griak Invitational on September 28. On October 18 led by first-place finisher McMahon, PC placed four runners in the top 10 to earn its sixth New England Championship and first since 1992. The Lady Friars continued their impressive running by winning their second consecutive BIG EAST Championship on November 1 at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass. McMahon captured the individual title in a time of 16:36. On November 16, the Lady Friars qualified for the NCAA Championship by finishing first in District 1 and third overall at the ECAC Championship at Franklin Park. McMahon placed second and was PC's top finisher. At the NCAA Championship in Tucson, Ariz., the Lady Friars finished seventh led by McMahon who placed second overall in a time of 17:20 and earned All-America honors.


    Heather Couture
    - All-BIG EAST
    - All-New England

    Sarah Dupre
    - All-BIG EAST
    - All-New England

    Gladys Ganiel
    - GTE District 1 Academic All-American

    Krissy Haacke
    - All-BIG EAST
    - All-New England

    Maria McCambridge
    - All-BIG EAST

    Marie McMahon
    - All-American
    - All-BIG EAST
    - All-ECAC
    - All-New England

    Ray Treacy
    - NCAA District I Women's Coach of the Year
    - BIG EAST Women's Coach of the Year


    Heather Couture '97
    Krissy Haacke '97
    Heather Horton '97
    Marie McMahon '97
    Susan Murnane '97
    Maria McCambridge '98
    Bridget MacLaughlin '98
    Yvonne O'Donnell '98
    Maura Cignetti '99
    Sarah Dupre '99
    Gladys Ganiel '99
    Sarah Pollack '99
    Kristin Torvaldsen '99
    Shannon Wood '99
    Kelly McCabe '00
    Dana Ostrander '00
    Samantha Siagel '00
    Larissa Schaldenko '00