Megan Hamilton And Colin Miller Named BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

Feb. 15, 2018

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference released its BIG EAST Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year winners, presented by Sunkist today [Feb. 15]. In addition to the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year honorees, the conference also announced its BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete award winners. Providence College field hockey player Megan Hamilton (Warrington, Pa.) and men’s soccer player Colin Miller (Bel Air, Md.) were recognized as Institutional Scholar-Athlete award winners. For their selection, Hamilton and Miller will each receive $2,000 toward graduate studies.

Hamilton, who is working toward a degree in marketing, finished her career as a two-time NFHCA All-Northeast Region (2016, 2017) selection. She also earned All-BIG EAST First-Team honors in back-to-back seasons (2016, 2017). Hamilton was an All-BIG EAST Second Team pick in 2014 and 2015, and is one of just three players in program history to earn All-BIG EAST recognition all four years of her career, joining Rachel Chamberlain ‘10 and Henni Tietze ‘15. Additionally, she is the 12th player in program history to earn First-Team accolades in multiple season.

Miller is pursuing his undergraduate degree in psychology. He is a three-year Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) member, and currently serves as the committee’s president. A three-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team selection, Miller has played in 34 career games as a Friar. He holds a 0.92 goals against average, a .805 save percentage and a 19-8-5 cumulative record. In 2016, he helped lead the Friars to the Elite Eight, turning in eight shutouts over the course of 16 starts. For his efforts that season, he was named BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year and to the NSCAA Div. I All-Great Lakes Region Second Team.

Seton Hall’s Alexis Walkden (softball) earned BIG EAST Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while Butler’s Eric Dick (men’s soccer) was honored as BIG EAST Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Walkden and Dick will receive a $4,000 scholarship that may be applied to graduate or professional studies.

The full list of BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete award winners are below:

2017-18 BIG EAST Institutional Female Scholar-Athlete Awards Presented by Sunkist
Butler • Anna Logan, Volleyball
Creighton • Lydia Dimke, Volleyball
DePaul • Alexa Ben, Soccer
Georgetown • Molly Fitzpatrick, Swimming & Diving
Marquette • Monique Felix, Track & Field
Providence • Megan Hamilton, Field Hockey
St. John’s • Anointing Onuoha, Track & Field
Seton Hall • Alexis Walkden, Softball
Villanova • Siofra Cleirigh Buttner, Track & Field
Xavier • Maddie Britton, Cross Country

2017-18 BIG EAST Institutional Male Scholar-Athlete Awards Presented by Sunkist
Butler • Eric Dick, Men’s Soccer
Creighton • Mitch LaGro, Men’s Soccer
DePaul • Paul Pecorin, Men’s Cross Country
Georgetown • Sam Madsen, Men’s Golf
Marquette • Alex Halloway, Men’s Track & Field
Providence • Colin Miller, Men’s Soccer
St. John’s • Josh Shaw, Baseball
Seton Hall • Noah Yachulis, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Villanova • Ben Malone, Men’s Track & Field
Xavier • Alex Wolfred, Men's Swimming & Diving


Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media