Women's Basketball Releases 2012-13 Non-Conference Schedule




    Aug. 4, 2012

    PROVIDENCE, R.I. -

    Providence College Head Women's Basketball Coach Susan Robinson Fruchtl has released the program's 2012-13 non-conference schedule. The 2012-13 campaign marks the first under the direction of Robinson Fruchtl, who was hired in April as the program's ninth head coach.

    The non-conference regular-season schedule features 13 games, including six games at Alumni Hall. Six opponents on the schedule advanced to post-season play during the 2011-12 season. Delaware is the lone NCAA Tournament team on the slate, while five others competed in the Women's National Invitation Tournament (Drexel, Virginia, Hartford, Harvard and Arizona State).

    Prior to opening the regular-season schedule, Providence will host Rhode Island College in an exhibition game on Saturday, November 3 at the newly renovated Alumni Hall/Mullaney Gymnasium. The exhibition game is open to the general public.

    The Friars kick off the regular-season with back-to-back home games against Drexel and Vermont on Friday, November 9 and Wednesday, November 14, respectively.

    Providence hits the road for a pair of games against Virginia on Sunday, November 18 in Charlottesville, Va., and a match-up with Delaware on Tuesday, November 20 in Newark, Del. A season ago, the Blue Hens made their first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 2007.

    The Friars close out the month of November with a two-game home stand. On Saturday, November 24, Providence welcomes Akron, followed by a match-up against Iona on Wednesday, November 28.

    Providence takes to the road for two games against Hartford (Saturday, December 1) and Harvard (Tuesday, December 4), before returning to Alumni Hall to host Arizona State on Friday, December 7. On Wednesday, December 19, the Friars will face Clemson at the Myrtle Beach Convention Center in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

    The final home game on the non-conference schedule features a match-up against in-state rival Rhode Island. The contest is scheduled for Saturday, December 22 at Alumni Hall.


     

     

    Providence concludes its non-conference schedule at the Fordham University Holiday Classic in Bronx, N.Y. The tournament will be held on Saturday, December 29 and Sunday, December 30 at Rose Hill Gymnasium. The Friars' possible opponents at Holiday Classic are Colorado State, Lafayette and Fordham.

    Providence's BIG EAST Conference regular-season schedule will be announced in September, and will consist of 16 games. The BIG EAST Conference Women's Basketball Championship is slated for March 8-12 at the XL Center in Hartford, Conn.

    2012-13 Providence College Women's Basketball Schedule

    Rotating Image