BIG EAST Releases Home/Away Opponents For 2011-12 Women's Basketball Season

Head Coach Phil Seymore

June 14, 2011

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference released its home and away pairings for the 2011-12 women's basketball season on Monday, June 13. The format for regular-season league play is a 16-game schedule, consisting of eight home games and eight road games. Each team in the conference will have one repeat opponent, while facing the remaining 14 teams once.

For the fifth-straight season, Providence College has been paired with Villanova as repeat opponents during the 2011-12 slate. In addition to hosting Villanova at Alumni Hall/Mullaney Gymnasium during the upcoming season, the Friars also will host Cincinnati, DePaul, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, Seton Hall, Syracuse and West Virginia.

The Friars will take to the road during BIG EAST regular-season play to face Connecticut, Georgetown, Louisville, Marquette, Notre Dame, St. John's, USF and Villanova.

The 2010-11 BIG EAST women's basketball season included a record-breaking nine teams in the NCAA Championship and one team in the WNIT. All 10 teams won their first-round games and the BIG EAST matched a record with 19 NCAA Tournament wins. Both Notre Dame and Connecticut reached the Final Four, with the Fighting Irish reaching the national title game. The success of BIG EAST women's basketball throughout the season was evident as the league had a consistent presence in the national polls and the RPI rankings. There was overwhelming depth in the league was 10 of the 16 teams broke the 20-win plateau.

For the sixth-straight season, the league posted a non-conference record in regular-season play of over .700. The league's home attendance figures continue to rise year-after-year with a combined 20 sellouts this season; a record for the conference. The BIG EAST, again, reached new heights in its national, regional and local television exposure.

With next season's start still months away, the future remains bright for BIG EAST women's basketball. In ESPN's 64 teams to watch in 2011-12, the sports network named eight BIG EAST teams: Notre Dame (No. 3), Connecticut (No. 6), Georgetown (No. 9), Louisville (No. 11), Rutgers (No. 17), DePaul (No. 19), St. John's (No. 25) and Syracuse (No. 30).



Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media