Providence Cross Country Heads To Wisconsin For Nuttycombe Invitational

Oct. 12, 2017

MADISON, WIS. – The Providence College cross country teams travel to Madison, Wis. for the eighth annual Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational on Oct. 12. Both the men’s and women’s teams will face multiple ranked teams in a deep field matched only by the NCAA Cross Country Championships. The races will take place on Friday, Oct. 13 with the men’s open race taking place at 12:40 p.m. ET, followed by the women’s Championship race at 1:20 p.m. ET and the men’s Championship race at 2:00 p.m. ET.
All of the Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational races will be streamed by Flotrack. The link can be found above. The stream is available to Flotrack Pro-Accounts, which can be purchased in the link.
The women are bringing an experienced team to compete with some of the NCAA’s best at the Nuttycombe Invitational. This year’s edition of the Nuttycombe Invitational will feature 17 of the top-30 ranked teams in the NCAA and will feature five of the top-10 teams, including the number eight ranked Friar women. #3 New Mexico, #5 Stanford, #6 San Francisco and #7 NC State make up the other four top-10 teams in the field.
The Friars return four harriers from last year’s third place team and add in multi-time All-American Catarina Rocha (Peabody, Mass.). The women last raced at the Boston College Battle-in-Beantown Invitational on Sept. 22. Rocha led the team to the team title by placing fourth overall.
The women will look for strong runs from senior Brianna Ilarda (Perth, Australia), senior Millie Paladino (Morgantown, W. Va.) and sophomore Abbey Wheeler (Pine City, N.Y.) at Nuttycombe. At last year’s edition of the race, the trio finished 37th, 38th and 52nd, respectively. Senior Mackenzie Barry (Mendham, N.J.) also competed last season for Providence, having finished 116th to round out the top seven.
Freshman Maria Coffin (Annapolis, Md.) and sophomore Alexandra DeCicco (Sachem, N.Y.) will be making their Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational debuts.
The men’s team is bringing nine athletes to this year’s Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational. The seven competing in the championship race will be decided the day of the race with the other two men racing in the open race.
The majority of the men’s team will be making their Nuttycombe debut as only seniors Thomas O’Neill (Middletown, N.J.) and Aaron Hanlon (Drogheda, Ireland) have raced at Wisconsin more than once. Both O’Neill’s and Hanlon’s best finishes came at the 2015 Invitational, when they finished 64th and 114th, respectively. Junior Marcus Karamanolis (Wellington, New Zealand) made his Wisconsin debut last season, where he finished 185th.
The other men traveling to Wisconsin are junior Michael O’Leary (St. James, N.Y.), junior Austin Scola (Medfield, Mass.), sophomore Liam Harris (Douglas, County Cork, Ireland), sophomore Peter Rindfuss (Hamburg, N.Y.), freshman Angus White (New Plymouth, New Zealand) and freshman David Rosas (Chestnut Ridge, N.Y.).
#3 New Mexico
#5 Stanford
#6 San Francisco
#7 NC State
#11 Washington
#13 Boise State
#14 Indiana
#17 Wisconsin
#18 Iowa State
#19 Utah State
#20 Minnesota
#21 Furman
#T-22 Georgetown
#T-22 Utah
#27 Yale
#28 Virginia
#1 Northern Arizona
#3 Syracuse
#4 Stanford
#6 Southern Utah
#10 Furman
#11 Colorado State
#13 Iona
#14 Iowa State
#15 Boise State
#16 Illinois
#17 Michigan State
#18 Virginia
#20 UCLA
#21 Indiana
#23 Air Force
#T-25 Portland
#T-25 Michigan
#27 Utah State
#28 Wisconsin
#29 Washington State
#30 Columbia



Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media