Men's Lacrosse Releases 2012 Schedule




    Nov. 16, 2011

    PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Providence College Head Lacrosse Coach Chris Burdick released the program's 2012 regular-season schedule on November 16. The schedule consists of 14 games, seven of which will be played at Lennon Family Field in Providence, R.I. Four of the Friars' 14 opponents on the schedule qualified for NCAA Tournament play in 2011, and include: Syracuse, Notre Dame, Villanova and Siena.

    The Friars open play on the road against Lafayette on Saturday, February 18 at 3:30 p.m. The team returns to Providence College for its home opener on Saturday, February 25 against Wagner at 2:00 p.m.

    Providence will travel to non-conference foe Manhattan on Saturday, March 3 (2:00 p.m.), before opening the BIG EAST Conference slate against Georgetown on Saturday, March 17 at 1:00 p.m. League play continues on Wednesday, March 21 as the Friars travel to the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, N.Y. to take on Syracuse at 7:00 p.m. Providence remains on the road for a match-up against Siena in Loudonville, N.Y. on Saturday, March 24 at 2:00 p.m.

    On Tuesday, March 27 the Friars open a three-game home stand with Bryant at 7:00 p.m. The Friars remain home at Lennon Field for two more games against BIG EAST foe Rutgers on Saturday, March 31 at 7:00 p.m. and Yale on Tuesday, April 3 (7:00 p.m.).

    Providence then hits the road for a BIG EAST Conference match-up against Notre Dame on Saturday, April 7 at 1:30 p.m.

    On Saturday, April 14 the Friars host Holy Cross as part of the program's annual Friar Lacrosse Alumni Weekend. The game will be played at 7:00 p.m.

    Providence travels to the East Side on Tuesday, April 17 to take on cross-city rival Brown at 7:00 p.m. The team plays its final regular-season road game of the year at BIG EAST foe St. John's on Saturday, April 21 at 1:00 p.m.

    On Saturday, April 28 the program will host BIG EAST member Villanova in the regular-season finale at Lennon Field. The game sets the stage for the Friars' senior day, and game time is set for 2:00 p.m.

     

     

    The 2012 BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Championship will be held at Villanova University in Villanova, Pa. The semifinals will be played on Thursday, May 3, with the championship game scheduled on Saturday, May 5.

    2012 Providence College Lacrosse Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

    - FRIARS -