Mauermann Named A Walter Brown Award Semifinalist

Ross Mauermann is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2014 Walter Brown Award.

Feb. 3, 2014

BOSTON, Mass. -

Junior forward Ross Mauermann (Janesville, Wis.) has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 62nd Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England. The semifinalists were announced by Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Bob Norton.

Mauermann is enjoying a career year with the Friars, leading the offense with 16 goals and 15 assists for 31 points. In Hockey East play, Mauermann ranks third in the league in scoring with 10 goals and eight assists for 18 points.

A three-time Hockey East Player of the Week, Mauermann has seven multi-point games this season and is tied for the NCAA lead in game-winning goals with five. He is the first Friar to notch at least 31 points in a season since 2007-08, when Jon Rheault also registered 31 points.

The Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, that year; the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 62nd Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner in April.

Four Friars have won the Walter Brown Award, including Ron Wilson (1974-75), Tim Army (1984-85), Rob Gaudreau (1991-92) and Mike Omicioli (1998-99).

Complete List of Semifinalists



Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media