Men's Basketball 2011-12 Non-Conference Schedule Announced




    Aug. 10, 2011

    PROVIDENCE, R.I. -- Providence College Head Coach Ed Cooley announced the 2011-12 men's basketball team's non-league schedule on Wednesday, August 10. The home non-league schedule is highlighted by a home game versus ACC foe Boston College on Thursday, December 8. The Friars will play a key non-conference road game at South Carolina on Thursday, December 1 at 7:00 p.m. on ESPNU in the BIG EAST/SEC Challenge.

    The Friars' regular season opener is scheduled for Saturday, November 12 versus Fairleigh Dickinson. PC will then travel to Fairfield for a road game against the Stags on Monday, November 14 before playing the first two games of the South Padre Island Invitational in Providence versus Florida A&M (Saturday, November 19) and Southern University (Tuesday, November 22). The Friars will then travel to South Padre Island, Texas for two games versus Iowa State (Friday, November 25) at 8:30 p.m. EST and Northern Iowa on Saturday, November 26 at 7:30 p.m. EST on CBS Sports Network.

    With the exception of a road game at Rhode Island on Friday, December 23, the remainder of the team's non-conference schedule will be at home versus Holy Cross (Tuesday, November 29), Brown (Monday, December 5), Bryant (Saturday, December 10) and New Hampshire (Tuesday, December 20).

    The Friars will open their season with an exhibition contest on the Providence College campus at Alumni Hall. The date and time for that game has not yet been determined. The Friars' second exhibition game will take place on Saturday, November 5 versus UMass-Lowell at the Dunkin' Donuts Center.

    Fans can get their first glimpse of the team at the annual Late Night Madness festivities at PC's Alumni Hall on Friday, October 14. Season tickets for all home games can be purchased Monday through Thursday from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. and Friday from 8:30 a.m.-2:00 p.m. at the PC Ticket Office in Alumni Hall or by calling (401) 865-GO PC.

    -end-

     

     

    Rotating Image