Bryce Cotton Named To Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 List

Feb. 13, 2014

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - It was announced today (February 13) Providence senior guard Bryce Cotton (Tucson, Ariz.) has been named one of 30 candidates on the Midseason Naismith Trophy list. The Naismith Trophy is given annually by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to the top male and female college basketball players in the country.

Cotton, one of the top guards in the country, leads the BIG EAST in assists (5.8 apg) and ranks second in scoring (21.2 ppg). He also leads the nation in minutes played, averaging 39.5 minutes per game. Cotton has scored 20 or more points in 17 of the team's 25 games and has scored 31 or more points in two of the last three games.

Cotton is on pace to become just the fifth player from a major conference to average more than 20 points per game and more than five assists per contest. The last player to accomplish that was Nolan Smith of Duke in 2010-11 (20.6 ppg, 5.1 apg).

Cotton, a Preseason All-BIG EAST First Team Selection, led the BIG EAST in scoring last season, averaging 19.7 ppg and earning All-BIG EAST First Team honors. For his career, he has registered 1,742 points in 20 game(14.5 ppg).

The most prestigious trophy in college and high school basketball, the Naismith was first awarded to the men's college basketball player of the year in 1969 (Lew Alcindor, UCLA). In 1983, the Naismith Awards also began recognizing the women's college basketball player of the year (Anne Donovan, Old Dominion). The Awards further expanded in 1987 to honor the men's and women's college coaches of the year, the boy and girl high school players of the year, and, in 1988, the men's and women's college officials of the year.

In November of each year, the board of selectors, comprised of coaches, administrators and media from across the country, chooses the preseason top 50 "watch list". In February, the Naismith voting academy narrows the list to the top 30 based on athletic performance. In March, the voting academy selects the four finalists who will go to the final ballot. The winner is selected by a board of selectors vote in conjunction with fan voting.



As the creator of the Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club was founded during the 1956-57 basketball season and has since been armed with the mission of promoting the continued support for the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting.

2013-14 Men's Naismith Trophy Midseason 30
Kyle Anderson	Sophomore	Guard-Forward	UCLA	Pac-12
Keith Appling	Senior	Guard	Michigan State	Big Ten
Cameron Bairstow	Senior	Forward	New Mexico	Mountain West
James Bell	Senior	Guard	Villanova	Big East
Bryce Cotton	Senior	Guard	Providence	Big East
Cleanthony Early	Senior	Forward	Wichita State	Missouri Valley
Melvin Ejim	Senior	Forward	Iowa State	Big 12
Joel Embiid	Freshman	Center	Kansas	Big 12
Tyler Ennis	Freshman	Guard	Syracuse	ACC
C.J. Fair	Senior	Forward	Syracuse	ACC
Aaron Gordon	Freshman	Forward	Arizona	Pac-12
Gary Harris	Sophomore	Guard	Michigan State	Big Ten
Joe Jackson	Senior	Guard	Memphis	American Athletic
Nick Johnson	Junior	Guard	Arizona	Pac-12
DeAndre Kane	Senior	Guard	Iowa State	Big 12
Sean Kilpatrick	Senior	Guard	Cincinnati	American Athletic
Roy Devyn Marble	Senior	Guard	Iowa	Big Ten
Doug McDermott	Senior	Forward	Creighton	Big East
Shabazz Napier	Senior	Guard	Connecticut	American Athletic
Jabari Parker	Freshman	Forward	Duke	ACC
Lamar Patterson	Senior	Forward	Pittsburgh	ACC
Casey Prather	Senior	Forward	Florida	SEC
Julius Randle	Freshman	Forward	Kentucky	SEC
Marcus Smart	Sophomore	Guard	Oklahoma State	Big 12
Russ Smith	Senior	Guard	Louisville	American Athletic
Nik Stauskas	Sophomore	Guard	Michigan	Big Ten
Xavier Thames	Senior	Guard	San Diego State	Mountain West
Fred VanVleet	Sophomore	Guard	Wichita State	Missouri Valley
Andrew Wiggins	Freshman	Guard	Kansas	Big 12
Chaz Williams	Senior	Guard	Massachusetts	Atlantic 10
Official Store
Official Online
Tickets Here



Follow us!

Friar Athletics
Social Media