Updated Providence Idol Standings

    June 27, 2012


    Updated Providence Idol standings are now available.  There are just a few short days left to vote and help the program of your choice win $1,000.  Sam Schlich, of the women's swimming & diving program, owns a narrow lead in the standings.  To cast your vote, please do so by June 30th.  Current standings and voting procedures are below.

    1. Sam Schlich (Women’s Swimming and Diving) - $1,390
    2. Genevieve Lacasse (Women’s Ice Hockey) - $1,300
    3. Jake Nolan (Lacrosse) - $770
    4. John Fatigati (Men’s Swimming and Diving) - $750
    5. Jen Abrams (Softball) - $300
    6. Emily Sisson (Women’s XC/Track) - $100
    7. Laura DiClemente (Women’s Soccer) - $50

    A student-athlete from each of our athletic programs is competing to be this year's Providence Idol! The winning varsity athletic program will be awarded $1,000 that they can use next year. You determine the winner! The nominees for each sport are:

    Men's Basketball - LaDontae Henton
    Women's Basketball - Lola Wells
    Men's Cross Country/Track - David McCarthy
    Women's Cross Country/Track - Emily Sisson
    Field Hockey - Henni Tietze
    Men's Ice Hockey - Alex Beaudry
    Women's Ice Hockey - Genevieve Lacasse
    Lacrosse - Jake Nolan
    Men's Soccer - Jhojan Obando
    Women's Soccer - Laura DiClemente
    Softball - Jen Abrams
    Men's Swimming/Diving - John Fatigati
    Women's Swimming/Diving - Sam Schlich
    Tennis - Maria Clara Bernardez
    Volleyball - Lauren Fletcher

    1. To cast your vote - make a donation to the Friars Forever Athletic Fund by visiting

    2. In the comments box, indicate the student-athlete that you are voting for to be this year's idol.

    3. Your Providence Idol will receive one vote for every $20 donated. (for example, if you make a $40 gift, it will count as two votes toward your student-athlete of choice; $100 gift counts as five votes, etc.).

    4. On June 30th, the votes will be tallied and the winning team with receive $1,000 for their program!

    Stay tuned to for updates and be sure to cast your vote before June 30th!